RSS Feed

13th week of cooking

Posted on

This was a week of simpler cooking because I was only supposed to cook on 2 days, but ended up cooking for most of the days… So I didn’t quite plan to cook much stuff.

Menu of the week includes fried rice, chicken mushroom soup, 3 cup chicken, lettuce, gyudon, and cornflake cookies.

Fried rice... trying to use up all the left over ingredients like spam and ham

chicken mushroom soup, recipe from Shiying. This is the first time so far that hubby says that the soup I cook is nice. haha

3 cup chicken (san bei ji) and chinese cabbage

3 cup chicken recipe from Rasa Malaysia. Nice!

Gyudon a.k.a Japanese beef bowl

Gyudon, recipe from Noob Cook. Not bad! Just that the beef I bought was too thickly sliced although I asked them to slice it really thin… And the rice was too sour! Prob won’t make sushi rice for this the next time, just normal short grain rice… :)

cornflake cookies baking in the oven

cornflake cookies! yay!

Dorothea was very sweet to send me a hand mixer for my birthday! Just what I needed because I couldn’t use my SG without a transformer (which I busted). How timely, and what a God-send!! :) This is the first thing I baked with the mixer… cornflake cookies, recipe from Rasa Malaysia! It was not bad, just a little dry. I later discovered that I shouldn’t use the mixer for the step that requires you to ‘fold in’… So the next time, I will try again by folding in, and maybe lowering the temp, and hopefully it will come out less dry.

After giving these cookies out to my friends here, I realised that I seem to be the only one who has ever eaten such cookies. The thing is, I really do remember eating this during Chinese New Year, but no one else here does! haha… how strange!

2 responses »

  1. I like beef and broccoli . My choice is obviously Gyudon, and it looks good. :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

