RSS Feed

18th week of cooking

Posted on

Spicy honey chicken, recipe from Rasa Malaysia

This spicy honey chicken was pretty yummy and easy to make, although it involves deep frying, which I’m trying not to do so much of. Looking at the pic of this on Rasa Malaysia never fails to make me hungry at night (which is when I usually read cooking blogs and think about what to cook… prob not the best time to do so!)

Honey soy salmon + agedashi tofu (have probably done it about 6 times already, trying to get it right. haha.. plus, I like eating agedashi tofu anyway!)

This almost bourdain recipe tells you to coat the salmon with flour before pan frying to give it a more crispy texture. Loving it, and will be coating salmon with flour more often from now on!

braised chicken with carrot and mushrooms, recipe from Noobcook

This braised chicken recipe from noobcook is officially my favourite for braised chicken! Hubby was all praises for this dish too.

Herb grilled chicken, mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli

A more ‘ang moh’ style packed dinner to keep hubby happy amidst all the Asian dishes. Followed this allrecipes recipe for the mashed potatoes, with the addition of garlic powder and crushed Italian herbs.

Grilled chicken recipe is from a grilling magazine which SY gave to me for my birthday. Basically marinated with lemon juice, dried thyme, salt, and pepper.

Satay fried rice!

I had some leftover satay marinade and sauce from the previous week (week 17 of cooking). I was about to make satay again, when I thought, why not take a shortcut and fry the chicken pieces with rice, to make Satay fried rice! (I really was just lazy to skewer the chicken pieces again.. woops!) I’m not even sure if there’s really such a dish.

So, this is what I did… Stir fry the satay-marinated chicken thigh pieces, add cooked rice, satay sauce, sugar, salt, fish sauce, kecap manis, and pepper. Top with fried egg drizzled with kecap manis and garnish with fried shallots.

hubby's favourite... burger! with brussel sprouts

We bought Angus Beef patties from Costco a while back, and there are still quite a few sitting in my freezer. This is one of the quickest meals to prepare, and it’s sure to make hubby happy.  I have to admit that I do also find these patties pretty yummy. I try not to make them too often though…

First time cooking brussel sprouts… Trying not to buy the same vegetables everytime… stir fried and simmered the brussel sprouts with bacon bits, garlic, chicken stock, salt and pepper.

2 responses »

  1. your food looks amazing babe!! keep the pictures coming!! (PS: that last picture with the brussel sprouts totally got me. yum!)

    Reply
    • Thanks babe!! :) haha as you can tell, I’m getting lazier and posting less pics these days. hehe… Your blog is so nice! love your pics! well done on getting it up with so many posts so quickly :P Good to know that you are settling in well too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

